Birthday Thoughts 2017

In September, I celebrated another year on planet earth.  I remember growing up and thinking about future milestones I would look forward too.  “I can’t wait until I graduate college” or I can’t wait until I get married.”  “I can’t wait to have my first child or start my own business.”  The cool thing is that I have surpassed these milestones.  That does not mean that I stopped dreaming (I am a big dreamer) but I am living in the overflow of God’s blessings.

I wanted to write this blog post on my birthday but didn’t because I was enjoying life.  I am glad I waited a few days past because some things have happened in the days and week afterward that I want to share here.  First, my son Daniel is one month into pre-school.  He is not perfect but is an amazing and wonderful child.  Currently he is having issues with potty training and it as been frustrating for us as his parents.  However, this week, we checked his ‘report card’ and he is an A student.  The grade is given based on him remembering his weekly scripture.  As a Christian, the most important thing is raising my son to love Jesus like I do.  For him to know and repeat God’s world is the single greatest feeling I have had since holding him in my arms after he was born.  No matter what his profession in the future, to know we are doing our part in building a strong foundation makes me legitimately happy.

The week before my birthday, I was in deep thought about who I am and have I tapped into my full potential.  I have always know that I have been blessed with many talents.  Like I mentioned before, I am a dreamer so I often wonder about the many versions of myself I should pursue.  I don’t know the percentage but I am not at full capacity so I look forward to tapping into what God has blessed me with.  I decided to write down 37 tasks/goals I want to accomplish before my next birthday (God’s willing).  Some are spiritual, physical, professional, family related etc.  I don’t know how much things I will get through but I look forward to the journey.

I feel so blessed for all the opportunities I have been given.  When I look back on my life, I am SO grateful to God for giving me a phenomenal life.  This year I have spent more time in daily devotion with Jesus and I have a better understanding of his voice and his purpose for me.  I was made to help others and bring out the best in people for God’s glory.  Even though I care very much about other things in life, my greatest accomplishment would be allowing God’s will to be done, in me.

Until the next one…

Leave a comment